R.V. Moss Lifetime Service Award

Recipient must have been a Member of NCSITE for at least 15 years who possesses demonstrated technical confidence and who has made significant contributions to the profession and ITE through participation in committees, workshops, speakers’ bureaus, seminars, fundraising, meetings and local arrangement committees, as well as through elected office at the Section level or higher.

2018 Award Winner: Todd Brooks, P.E.

Todd Brooks has served NCSITE faithfully for  many years. He has always been willing to step in wherever his expertise or manpower was needed. He has served as the Chair for the Annual Meeting, Council Chairperson, and he has served on the NCSITE Awards Committee. He has served as Secretary, Vice-President, and is a Past President with NCSITE. He has served as the Southern District Representative for ITE in 2015, and most recently served as the Strategic Initiatives Council chairperson. He is a previous Recipient of the Robert Dodge Professional Image Award, and has also received the NCSITE President’s Award. He serves as the Traffic Engineering Group Manager at Dewberry.



Thank you Todd for all you have done in support of NCSITE and transportation in NC.


R.V. Moss, one of Walter and Lala Moss’ six children, was born on October 15, 1931 in Hendersonville. He graduated in 1950 from Hudson High School, where he was President of his Senior Class and made an early contribution to mass transit by working as a bus driver. He enrolled in Mars Hill College in 1950, but joined the United States Army in 1951 and served as a paratrooper in the 508th Airborne Regimental Combat Team.

After leaving the Army in 1954, he enrolled in North Carolina State College in Raleigh, and earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Civil Engineering in May 1959. While pursuing his studies, R.V. worked part-time for the City of Raleigh, and after graduation accepted a full-time engineering position. In 1960, he became Assistant Traffic Engineer for the City of Durham. In October 1963 he went to High Point to serve as the City Traffic Engineer, which was later titled Director of Transportation. In this capacity he oversaw the planning, design, construction and implementation of many important projects and programs, including upgrades to the High Point’s computerized traffic signal system, and the development of a multi-modal transportation system to serve the Furniture Market.

In addition to his official duties, R.V. played an active part in the foundation of the North Carolina Section of the Institute of Traffic (now Transportation) Engineers (ITE). He attended the first of many meetings in High Point in 1965 gradually becoming more involved in the organization. He served as the NCSITE President in 1969. His involvement also extended to the Southern District ITE, where he represented the North Carolina Section on the Executive Board for two years before becoming Southern District President in 1980. As a well-known and respected transportation leader in the southeastern United States, R.V. received the District’s top two awards: the Marble J. Hensley Individual Activity Award in 1984 and the Herman Hoose Distinguished Service Award in 1990. To recognize the tireless service and dedication that Mr. RV Moss has shown, in 1992, the North Carolina Section created the RV Moss Lifetime Service Award in his honor. He is a Life Fellow in the International ITE. Even since his retirement from the City in 1993, he regularly attends the NC Sections’ Annual Meeting each fall.

Mr. Moss is registered by the State of North Carolina as a Professional Engineer and Land Surveyor. He is an active member of First Baptist Church in High Point and has maintained membership in High Point’s Kiwanis Club since 1965. He and his wife Vera currently split their time between a variety of activities in High Point and their mountain home in Ashe County.


2017 – Todd Brooks, PE
2016 – Terry Hopkins, PE
2015 – Terry Snow, P.E.
2014 – David Robinson, P.E.
2013 – Fred Burchett, P.E.
2012 – Calvin W. Leggett, P.E.
2011 – Jim Humphrey, P.E.
2010 – Larry Goode, P.E.
2009 – H.A. “Burt” Tasaico
2008 – Fred Rosendahl
2007 – Bruce G. Leonard, P.E., PLS
2006 – Bill Finger, Jr., P.E.
2005 – Ed Johnson, Jr., P.E.
2004 – John Bauerlein, P.E.
2003 – Troy Peoples, P.E.
2002 – Stan Polanis, P.E.
2001 – Phil Wylie, P.E.
2000 – Ron Poole, P.E.
1999 – Brent McKinney, P.E.
1998 – Joe K. Donaldson, P.E.
1997 – Emily Blount, P.E.
1996 – J. Richard Atkins, P.E.
1995 – Mike Dawkins, P.E.
1994 – Ed Vick, P.E.
1993 – Ray Welch, P.E.
1992 – R. V. Moss, P.E.