Jay Quinn Technical Excellence Award

Recipient must possess excellent technical knowledge that they share with NCSITE through presentations at sponsored meetings or training sessions, or through active participation in councils or committees, task forces, or work groups.

Recipient must have made a significant contribution to the Section, and is not required to be a Member or Affiliate of NCSITE to be recognized with this award.

2017 Award Winner:  Chris Cunningham, P.E.

Chris Cunningham has conducted numerous technical training and research activities at the municipal, state, and national levels. In 2010, he served as co-editor for the 2nd Edition of the ITE Manual of Transportation Studies, and currently serves as the chair for the Signal Systems User Group. Chris current works as Traffic Systems Innovation Program Manager for the Highway Systems Group at the Institute for Transportation Research and Education (ITRE) in Raleigh.

Congratulations to Chris Cunningham, P.E. of ITRE for receiving the NCSITE Jay Quinn Technical Excellence Award.


Mr. Jay Quinn was a highly respected vendor of traffic signal equipment who had a deep commitment for ITE. He was a pioneer in helping others get trained by personally conducting training classes before they were formally offered by ITE and others. He constantly tried to help others by helping them get connected with the right people, and he was viewed as a storehouse of technical information. For all these reasons, NCSITE presented Mr. Jay Quinn with the very first NCSITE Technical Excellence Award in 1992 and named this award in his honor. Prior to that, in 1969 he began his career with Southeastern Safety Supplies in Columbia SC. He served as the South Carolina ITE President in 1972. He was awarded the very prestigious Herman J. Hoose Award in 1973 by the Southern District ITE.

If anyone has a photo of Mr. Jay Quinn, or has additional biographical information that can be shared on this website, please notify the Chair of the Operations Committee.


2016 – Bowman Kelly, PE
2015 – Mark Harrison, P.E.
2014 – Bastian Schroeder, Ph.D., P.E.
2013 – Rob Ziemba, P.E.
2012 – J. Kevin Lacy, P.E.
2011 – Jim Dunlop, P.E.
2010 – Sreekanth “Sunny” Nandagiri, P.E.
2009 – Mike Reese, P.E.
2008 – (No award)
2007 – Leigh Ann Couch
2006 – (No award)
2005 – Christine Kuchta
2004 – (No award)
2003 – Laura Jensen
2002 – Slade McCalip
2001 – Sherry McIntyre
2000 – Tom Kendig, AICP
1999 – Byron Hood
1998 – James R. Currence, Jr
1997 – John Tippett, AICP
1996 – Gary Rockette
1995 – Katie McDermott
1994 – Perry Carver
1993 – Carol Carter
1992 – Jay Quinn