Contribution to Transportation Award

Recipient is an individual or organization not affiliated with NCSITE who has contributed significantly to transportation through professional and/or political activities.

2017 Award Winner: Gene Conti

Dr. Gene Conti has more than three decades of public service and private business management experience that has focused primarily on transportation budgeting, policy and programming. Gene’s career has included Director of the Office of Planning and Management Analysis for the US Department of the Treasury, Chief of Staff for NC Congressman David Price, and assistant Secretary for Transportation Policy at the United States Department of Transportation.

Gene’s leadership at the North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT) was extraordinary. Gene first served as Chief Deputy Secretary at NCDOT from 2001-2003, where he elevated the importance of their Highway Safety Program. Gene later served as Secretary of Transportation from 2009-2013, where he made substantial changes in the department’s business practices.

Secretary Conti was presented with the award at a surprise ceremony and reception at the January NCSITE Board Meeting.


2016 – Sig Hutchinson
2015 – NC Chamber of Commerce
2014 – Rep. William Brawley
2013 – Jim Trogdon, P.E.
2012 – Joseph E. Hummer, P.E.
2011 – John Brantley
2010 – Pat McCrory
2009 – Senator S. Clark Jenkins
2008 – Lyndo Tippett (NCDOT Secretary of Transportation)
2007 – William A. “Beau” Mills
2006 – Nancy Dunn
2005 – J. Douglas Galyon (NC Board of Transportation)*
2004 – Dr. Downey Brill (NCSU)
2003 – Rep. Jim Crawford
2002 – Rep. Nelson Cole
2001 – Senator Wib Gulley
2000 – Dr. Gorman Gilbert
1999 – Mayor Rebecca Smothers
1998 – Deputy Secretary David King
1997 – Congressman Howard Coble
1996 – (no award recipient)
1995 – Seddon “Rusty” Goode, Jr.
1994 – Secretary Sam Hunt
1993 – Mayor Avery Upchurch
1992 – Senator William Goldston