2019 Section Awards

2019 Section Awards

The success of NCSITE is due to the dozens of engineers and planners who organize NCSITE activities and who provide high-quality transportation technical expertise throughout the state.

The NCSITE Awards Committee receives nominations from our membership for all the Award categories and then strives to honor the most deserving individuals for that year. The Committee typically presents six awards each year. The NCSITE President also honors a member with special recognition. The NCSITE Awards Committee was honored to present the following awards in 2019:

New Member Award: Andy Wagner, PE

The New Member Award is presented to a New Member who has contributed substantially to the advancement of the Section. Recipients exhibit a teamwork approach to their NCSITE responsibilities, excellent leadership and professionalism skills, integrity, a willingness to learn, and an excitement for NCSITE activities and grown potential.

Andy currently serves as Co-chair of the Young Members council. He has held leadership roles in the student chapter at NCSU and upon graduation joined NCSITE. He has helped lead the outreach to the student chapters and helped put together a successful Technical Retreat along with planning joint meeting between the Young Member Council and other councils. The Nomination said “that he has helped develop the Young Member Council and personifies the goals of this council and has done a great job helping young graduates transition to the professional side of ITE.” Andy currently works as an Engineer in the Traffic group at HNTB.

Young Professional Award: Kevin Baumann, PE

The Young Professional Award is presented to a Member or Affiliate, under the age of 35 years, who, over their young professional career, has contributed to the advancement of the transportation profession and NCSITE.

Kevin has served for the past few years as the lead of the Signal System user group. He has also been instrumental in arranging meetings for this user group as well as joint meetings with the ITS and SimCap user groups.  He has displayed great integrity, professionalism, and leadership in is roles through work and his position held in NCSITE.  Kevin has six years of experience in Traffic engineering and transportation planning working with Kimley-Horn as a Project Manager.

Jay Quinn Technical Excellence Award: Dr. Nagui  Rouphail

The Jay Quinn Technical Excellence Award is presented to a recipient that must possess excellent technical knowledge, that shares their knowledge/insight with NCSITE, and who has made a significant contribution to the Section.

Nagui is the author of dozens of peer-reviewed papers in highway capacity, traffic modeling, and other related areas. He has made countless presentations at international, national, state, and local transportation meetings.  He was on the TRB Highway Capacity Committee for many years and is the original developer of the FREEVAL analysis package. The nomination mentioned that “he is one of the world’s foremost experts on intersection capacity and level of service”. He has been a great mentor to dozens of graduate students throughout the years.  Nagui has previously served as Director of ITRE, and he is currently a Distinguished University Professor in the Department of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering at NC State University.

Robert J. Dodge Professional Image Award: Kevin Lacy, PE

The Robert Dodge Professional Image Award is presented to a recipient that is a Member of NCSITE, they must possess demonstrated technical competence and excellent people skills, they must have a demonstrated record of service to the profession, the organization, and his/her community; who by personal demeanor and example projects the best image of what a transportation professional should be.

Kevin has been an active member of NCSITE, most recently serving two cycles as a mentor in the mentoring program.  He has a passion for developing the younger generation. The nomination mentioned he is an “individual who not only maintains a working knowledge of his field, he is considered an expert in the majority of these facets.  He has a passion for traffic engineering and how to use his knowledge to influence programs and research to affect safety and mobility on our roadway networks” it went on to say his “calm demeanor, approachability, intelligence, professionalism and thorough processes make him a true asset to the NCDOT and this states citizens”. He has served on the NCSITE Board as Secretary, Vice-President, and is a Past President.  He is a past recipient of the Jay Quinn Technical Excellence Award.  Kevin has worked with the UNC Highway Safety Research Center and he is currently the State Traffic Engineer with NCDOT.

R.V. Moss Lifetime Service Award: Christa Greene, PE

The R.V. Moss Lifetime Service Award is presented to a recipient that has been an NCSITE Member for at least 15 years; they should possess demonstrated technical confidence; and they should have made significant contributions to the profession and ITE through participation in committees, workshops, speakers’ bureaus, seminars, fundraising, meetings, and local arrangement committees, and through elected office at the Section level or higher.

Christa has served NCSITE faithfully for many years. She has worked tirelessly behind the scenes in many areas such as the annual meeting planning, operations manual and the mentoring program to name a few. She has served as Secretary, Vice-President, and is a Past President with NCSITE.  She currently serves as a board member for the Southern District ITE and is a vice-chair of the International ITE Traffic Engineering Council.  Christa is a previous Recipient of the Robert Dodge Professional Image Award, and has also received the NCSITE President’s Award.  She serves as Transportation Planning and Traffic Engineering leader at Stantec.

Contribution to Transportation Award

The Contribution to Transportation Award is presented to a recipient that is not affiliated with NCSITE in any capacity who has contributed significantly to transportation through professional and/or political activities. The recipient of this year’s award has been selected, however NCSITE has yet to make the name public pending a presentation of the award.

President’s Award: Claudio Figueroa, PE 

This Award recognizes a Member who has contributed to the advancement of the transportation profession and the Section. The NCSITE President awards the outstanding individual that has provided them guidance, advice, assistance, and offered help in whatever capacity is needed. This year Claudio Figueroa received this award in recognition of consistently and selflessly providing direct support to the president, for developing and updating the NCSITE website, and for assisting with the transitions for affiliate members.